How To Rank #1 On Google Search - MEGA THREAD🧵
Phase #1 - The Mathematical Formula to rank #1
You have 3 metrics you need to nail to create a perfect 10/10 Quality Score. The higher your Quality Score is, the cheaper your Ad cost will be. a 1/10 Quality Score will be 10x more Expensive than a 10/10 So Listen up:
The 3 metrics you need to nail to have a 10/10 Quality score:
- Landing Page Experience
- Expected CTR
- Ad Relevance
Heres how to gain above average scores on all 3:
Expected CTR: Have compelling ad copy & extensions (now renamed to assets). In your Sitelink Extensions & Callout extensions reinforce the keyword you are targeting. Have specific sitelinks & callouts per adgroup to match the keyword being targeted. Callout extensions will show the keyword in bold if it matches the prospects query. Sprinkle in Promotional Extensions & Image Extensions. Kill any low CTR assets
Landing Page Experience: Have low bounce rate & make users spend either spend a lot of time on your landing page or take an action. Your product / offering should also be an specific match to what the user is typing into google search. That's why you will have poor performance running high SKU keywords like "shoes" since it isn't as specific as something like "barefoot shoes" etc.
Ad Relevance: Ad relevance" measures how closely your keyword matches the messaging in your ads. A below average score means that your search ads / keyword aren't relevant to your business.
Analyzing Quality Score Performance:
The above 3 columns I mentioned can be added to your google ads account under "keywords" section. You can also add Quality Score as a 4th Column to analyze Performance.
Phase #2: Ad Rank
What is an Ad Rank? Ad Rank is your Bid multiplied by your Quality Score. Let me Explain.
I want you to answer this question... Who will win the auction??
Advertiser #1: 4/10 Quality Score - $1 CPC bid
Advertiser #2: 10/10 Quality Score - $0.5 CPC Bid
If you answered Advertiser #1 you are incorrect & need to pay attention retard. Let me Explain the mathematical formula behind why Advertiser #2 wins the auction with 2x cheaper CPC bids.
Advertiser #1:
$1 CPC Bid x 4/10 Quality Score = 4 Ad Rank
Advertiser #2:
$0.5 CPC Bid x 10/10 Quality Score = 5 Ad Rank
Now that you understand how to have the highest possible quality score & Ad Rank for your search campaign. What does the best setup look like to launch & scale?
Well Lets start with the Keyword Research Phase:
Selling a galaxy projector? I hope not, this is 2025, but anyways Target "Galaxy Projector". Selling Grounding Sheets. Target "Grounding Sheets"
The people who suggest testing 50 long-tail keywords I strongly disagree with. You can test multiple keywords, but aim for high search volume growing keywords to scale. I call these keywords "product keywords" which are exact match keywords to your product offering.
I use Keywords Everywhere Chrome Extension to conduct my research. Google keyword research planner is a tool by google which is also an option, but if you have a high IQ, you can just use the first option.
Your Keyword needs to be specific: "sheets" & "projector" keyword will never work, it is too broad. But don't get too specific "Grounding sheets for males over 50" You will not make any money.
The sweet spot is typically 2-4 word keywords
Initial Campaign Launch:
Start with manual CPC bidding $50/d, Use Exact Match & Phrase Match Keywords. After proof of concept adjust your CPC bids & keep doubling your budget until your budget is higher than your daily spend. I call this an "Open Budget"
Don't start your CPC bids too high, if you do that, you will spend $50 in one hour. The goal is for your CPC to be low enough to get the cheapest possible spend on the highest quality keywords
To Scale:
Switch to Target CPA bidding strategy & transition the keywords to Broad Match. You can scale rapidly with 1-4 broad match keywords, one adgroup per keyword. Even 1-2 will be enough. Don't overthink it
After Chad Scaling tCPA to the maximum daily Budget:
You need to Analyze these 3 Metrics:
Search Impr. Share
Abs Top %
Click Share
Lets break these 3 down:
Search Impr. Share: % of times your ads show in the search results
Abs Top %: % of times your ads show in the absolute top position #1
Click Share: % of available clicks you are capturing in the auction
Understand how much market share you are capturing with your current bids & adjust them up & down to outspend competitors & take more real estate in the search network.
Surf scale your bids up & down every few hours. I create a pageless google doc with media buying team on high spend ad accounts to analyze my target KPIs (CPA / ROAS every hour) Increase bids if your ROAS is too high, Decrease bids if you want more profit.
The goal is to maximize daily profit $ Amount, net profit % is irrelevent on demand capture marketing like search / shopping.
I have some strategies I have never shared before publicly which allows you to automatically adjust bids to spend more in your highest CVR hours, by syncing Shopify hourly CVR data with the Google Ads Interface.
Should I drop a Youtube Video or more explanations on this? RT & Let me know in the comments